Katko: National Historic Park Designation Is An Incredible Tribute To Harriet Tubman’s Remarkable Legacy

U.S. Rep. John Katko (NY-24) looks on as U.S. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell officially designates the Harriet Tubman Home in Auburn as a National Historic Park

Washington, D.C. – Following this morning’s ceremony in which the U.S. Secretary of the Interior officially designated the Harriet Tubman home in Auburn as a National Historic Park, U.S. Rep. John Katko (NY-24) released the following statement:

U.S. Rep. John Katko (NY-24)

U.S. Rep. John Katko (NY-24)

“I am thrilled that the Harriet Tubman home in Auburn has formally been established as a National Historic Park, and I was honored to be in attendance at this morning’s ceremony in Washington.

“After years of hard work by local advocates, community members in Auburn, and members of the AME Zion Church, this project is finally a reality.  Auburn is a place that Harriet Tubman once called home, and our community is proud to preserve and highlight her extraordinary legacy and life’s work. 

“With the official designation of this site as a National Historic Park, Harriet Tubman’s home will now become a valuable public resource for Central New Yorkers and tourists to learn about her heroic contributions to our nation. 

“The creation of a National Historic Park at the Tubman Home in Auburn is an incredible tribute to Harriet Tubman’s remarkable legacy.”

Since taking office, Representative Katko has worked closely with local advocates and the National Parks Service to ensure a smooth transition in the designation of the Harriet Tubman Home in Auburn a national park.  During the 114th Congress, Rep. Katko and Rep. Elijah Cummings (MD-7) introduced the bipartisan Harriet Tubman Tribute Act, which would require the Secretary of the Treasury to place Harriet Tubman’s likeness on a Federal Reserve Note by 2017.   It was later announced that Harriet Tubman will appear on the $20 bill.

Congressman John Katko represents the 24th Congressional District, which includes all of Onondaga, Cayuga, and Wayne Counties and the western portion of Oswego County.