Michael Eric Dyson to Speak at 40th Annual NAACP Freedom Fund Gala: 2019 “NAACP Freedom Awards” Winners Announced

Annual Dinner will take place Thursday, May 31st

Syracuse, N.Y. – The Syracuse/Onondaga County Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP); announced winners of the 2019 NAACP Freedom Awards. The awardees will be honored at the annual Freedom Fund dinner which will take place May 31st, 2019 at the Holiday Inn in Liverpool, New York. Anyone interested in attending can call 315-440-6340 or visit www.syracusenaacp.com  to purchase tickets. The events Honorary Co–Chairs, 2019 Freedom Fund Dinner Committee are; Linda Brown-Robinson, Twiggy Eure, Jodi DeAugustine and Joanie Mahoney.

Keynote Speaker, Michael Eric Dyson

Michael Eric Dyson is a professor of sociology at Georgetown University. Dyson is also a respected academic, author, preacher and radio host. He is a New York Times contributing opinion writer. He is also a contributing editor of The New Republic and ESPN’s The Undefeated website. The Mistress of Ceremonies will be Natasha Alford. Alford is Deputy Editor and Digital Host for theGrio which is a division of MSNBC.

The categories and respective winners are as follows:

The “Harriet Tubman Freedom” Award is given annually to an individual whose efforts have demonstrated, produced or contributed towards making and eradicating racial injustice while promoting social equity and beyond. Demonstrating leadership, this individual helped advance and improve the community at large. Winner: Tim Penix – EOC

The “Earl G. Graves, Sr. Corporate” Award is given annually to a business whose contributions demonstrate an allegiance with the African American community through work dedicated to promotion of equal rights, opportunities, partnerships, and/or financial contributions. Winner: Crouse Health

The “A. Phillip Randolph CNY Union” Award is given annually to either an individual employed by a union or the union as the organization itself whose work helps meet humanitarian efforts in the community through volunteerism and civic service. This individual or organization is dedicated to making a positive difference in the community through political, educational, social or economic initiatives. Winners: Derrick Carr – SEIU 1199, NYSUT (New York State United Teachers)

This “Oprah Winfrey Philanthropy” award recognizes an individual, couple, or organization whose philanthropic deeds or contributions have made an impact in the greater community. Winners: Laurence Segal, Carla & Mark Hall

The “Maye, McKinney and Melchor Freedom and Justice” Award is given annually to an organization, individual or individuals who demonstrate outstanding leadership in enhancing legal work within the community that helps advance social justice and civil rights efforts on behalf of its residents. Winner: Cold Case Justice Initiative – Syracuse University

The “Madame C. J. Walker Small Business” Award is given annually to a small business whose work has proven a dedication to working with and improving minority communities. Nominee’s work should embody NAACP’s mission – ensuring the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all person’s and eliminating race-based discrimination. Winner: E. Smith Contractors LLC

The “Mary McLeod Bethune Educator” Award Winner: Marjorie Carter

Crouse Health is a presenting sponsor for the Freedom Fund Dinner and Galaxy Media is the presenting media sponsor.