Miner, Fowler Graduate Syracuse Regional Police Academy Class, 32 New Officers Join Syracuse Police Department

Officers Have Undergone Training at the Academy Since August, 2014 32 New Officers are one of the Most Diverse Classes to Join Syracuse Police Department in History

SYRACUSE, N.Y. – Mayor Stephanie A. Miner and Chief of Police Frank L. Fowler presided over the graduation today of 32 the Syracuse Regional Police Academy. Of the graduating class, 32 new officers will join the Syracuse Police Department. This new class, announced by Mayor Miner during the release of the 2014-15 City budget, represents one of the most diverse classes of officers ever to join the Department.

“This is a momentous occasion in the lives of these young men and women as well as an important day as we add 32 new officers to the Syracuse Police Department,” said Syracuse Mayor Stephanie A. Miner. “I look forward to welcoming these new recruits to the force as they begin their careers serving and protecting the people of the City of Syracuse.”

The new group of officers joining the Syracuse Police Department represents one of the most diverse groups to join the force. In this class of 32 officers, five are female, three are Hispanic, four are African-American, one is a Native American. Additionally, six of the new officers are military veterans.

Mayor congratulates newly sworn-in Police Academy Graduates

Mayor congratulates newly sworn-in Police Academy Graduates

An invocation was offered by the Rev. Daren Jamie and a benediction was offered by the Rev. Father Dennis Hayes. The national anthem was sung by Cilvia Henfield. Mayor Miner and Chief Fowler delivered remarks and presented badges to the new officers. Police Officer Joseph Moran spoke on behalf of the class.

Awards were also presented to members of the class. The awards honored achievement in physical fitness, academics, emergency vehicle operations, defensive tactics, and firearms. An award was also given to a class leader and a most improved graduate.

Syracuse Police LogoThe Syracuse Regional Police Academy is led by Commanding Officer Lt. David Gilbertsen with the support of a team of police officers including Joseph DeCaro, Kristie Hack, Thomas McGuire, Michael Musengo, William Schroeder, and Deputy Sheriff Amy Bollinger. Hon. Stephanie A. Miner Mayor Frank L. Fowler Chief of Police

In addition to the 32 officers from the Syracuse Police Department, officers from nine other local law enforcement agencies will graduate from the academy. A full list of graduates appears below.

Palace Police Academy Graduation

Syracuse Police Department
Police Officer Brian Bach
Police Officer Michael Birklin
Police Officer Walter Brainerd
Police Officer Jason Caceres
Police Officer Joseph Commisso
Police Officer Angel Cordero, Jr
Police Officer Gregory DiPuccio
Police Officer Tanya Dominguez
Police Officer Daniel Fahey
Police Officer Anthony Fiorini
Police Officer Gerald Fluno
Police Officer Kelsey Francemore
Police Officer Marlon Franklin
Police Officer Christopher Gaj
Police Officer JM Giarusso
Police Officer Robert Jones, III
Police Officer Brett Leonard
Police Officer Meghan Lewis
Police Officer Victoria Lasurdo
Police Officer Colin Mahar
Police Officer Daniel Medlock
Police Officer Joseph Moran
Police Officer Andrew Murphy
Police Officer Dallas Pelz
Police Officer Arthur Phillips
Police Officer Brandon Pylinski
Police Officer Kenneth Sheehan
Police Officer Brittany Shields
Police Officer Selasie Tetevia
Police Officer Mathew Tynan
Police Officer Nicholas Voggel
Police Officer Craig Walters

Onondaga County Sheriff
Deputy Sheriff Patrick Blackford
Deputy Sheriff Eddie Brown
Deputy Sheriff David Curtain
Deputy Sheriff Matthew Getman
Deputy Sheriff Kyle Guadagnolo
Deputy Sheriff Danielle Podejko
Deputy Sheriff Adam Quigley
Deputy Sheriff Marcus Rinaldi
Deputy Sheriff Helen Salling
Deputy Sheriff Justin Sorrento
Deputy Sheriff Patrick Wiater

Auburn Police Department
Police Officer Nicholas Atkins
Police Officer Nathan Gage
Police Officer Angel Gonzalez
Police Officer Adam Rivers
Police Officer Phillip Wetherell

Fulton Police Department
Police Officer Gregory Webb

Ithaca Police Department
Police Officer Justin Baldessare

New Berlin Police Department
Police Officer Anthony Grimes

Oswego Police Department
Police Officer Jamie Nielsen
Police Officer Mathew Zaccaria

Oswego County Sheriff
Deputy Sheriff Tomas Garcia

S.U.N.Y. Oswego Police
Police Officer Joshua Seymore

S.U.N.Y. Upstate Police
Police Officer Shane Dobeis Police Officer Michael Giallanza