• 5 for CNY - Learn How
  • CSEA_Help Wanted_Labor Relations
  • Alzheimer’s Association
  • Syracuse Stage Murder on the Orient Express
  • Urban CNY-Survey 2.0 LinkedIn-530 x 75 px
  • Land Bank - Restoring Properties
  • Malmgren Concert Black History Month

Celebrating Urban Life Since 1989

Menu Hamburger White
  • CSEA_Help Wanted_Labor Relations
  • Syracuse Stage Murder on the Orient Express
  • 5 for CNY - Learn How
  • Land Bank - Restoring Properties
  • Malmgren Concert Black History Month
  • Alzheimer’s Association
  • Urban CNY-Survey 2.0 LinkedIn-530 x 75 px

More than 80 Nurses Graduate from St. Joseph’s College of Nursing

75 Graduates from Class of May 2015 Accept Jobs with St. Joseph’s

Syracuse, NY (May 29, 2015) – St. Joseph’s College of Nursing at St. Joseph’s Hospital Health Center held a graduation ceremony and awards brunch for its May 2015 graduates on Sunday, May 17, 2015 at the SRC Arena at Onondaga Community College in Syracuse, NY.  The associate degree in applied science with a major in nursing was conferred on 83 graduates, who also received the college pin.

St. Joseph’s also offered an unprecedented 75 jobs to its College of Nursing graduates, and every offer was accepted. As St. Joseph’s continues to grow, the healthcare system – which is the only Magnet designated hospital in Central New York – is recruiting nurses from across Syracuse, as well as across the country.

The following awards were given during the ceremony:

  1. Sister Antonia/Angel of Mercy Award – Awarded to: Joshua Purcell
  2. James H. Abbott Award – Awarded to: Gabriela Caruso
  3. Rita Hanover Berdan Memorial Award – Awarded to: Kristen Kelly
  4. Dubnoff Award for Leadership – Awarded to: Joshua Purcell
  5. Dubnoff Award for Inspiration – Awarded to: Jennifer Camero
  6. Karen A. Loveland Payment Award – Awarded to: Elizabeth Denee
  7. Theodore Pasinski Award – Awarded to: John Flanagan
  8. Sherwood Finn Memorial Scholarship – Awarded to: Kaylyn Woodrick
  9. Stella Sroka Award – Awarded to: Blaze Kravec
  10. ANA-New York Future Nurse Leader Award – Awarded to: Joshua Purcell

Complete list of May 2015 graduates:


Maha Abdelaziz Ashlee Hannon Joshua Purcell
Christina Adams Ashley Hiller Katrina Quintal
Tylisha Barnett Michelle Johnson Samantha Riorden
Naomi Birch Abigail Jones Beata Rubacha
Gina Bisesi Renee Jones Gina Sackett
Kyrstin Blackburn Kristen Kelly Christopher Sanders
Shelby Brabant Lisa King Courtney Shoales
Mackenzie Brayman Blaze Kravec Erinrose Silky
Colleen Byrnes Larisa Lester Emily Spellane
Jennifer Camero Aubrey Letourneau Jessica Spiker
Bridget Card Benjamin Lloyd Danielle Steigerwald
Christina Carnovale Emily Lloyd Eric Stevens
Gabriela Caruso Kaleigh Martin Elizabeth Stratton
Cali Chappell Ryan McCarthy Anna Talamo
Jenna Colella Shannon McCarthy Crystal Tarbell
Kelly Cordon Shelby McCloat Triandafilli Telonis
Hayley Craner Elizabeth McDougall Allison Thomas
Hannah Cuskey Carrie McGraw Rachel Tinklepaugh
Taylor Daniels Cynthia McKie Kayla Van Wormer
Deetra Davis Alyssa Merriam Selina Villanueva
Elizabeth Dennee Jacob Mugaya Kathaleen Vineall
Bridget Festa Krista Mulpagano Nicole White
John Flanagan Chrystina Murray Shelby Widger
Jessica Fraher Tara Muscolino Kaylyn Woodrick
Nicholas Garafalo Brenna O’Rourke Christina Wright
Jessica Goot Hali Peter Taylor Zelenyak
Alison Guy Lindsay Powlin Jessica Zogby
Heather Hanlon Micharri Pratts

Patricia E. Drea, RN, BSN, MPA ’69, Chief Operating Officer, Visiting Angels was the graduation speaker. Joshua Purcell, May 2015 graduate, addressed his class. Ann Marie Walker-Czyz, RN, Ed.D., Sr. Vice President for Operations, COO/CNO, addressed the graduates on behalf of the hospital administration.

Above photo: Members of St. Joseph’s College of Nursing 2015 graduating class.

St. Joseph’s College of Nursing is accredited by its professional nursing accreditor, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. For more information, visit www.sjhcon.org or call 315-448-5040.


Local, State & National




Contact Us