• Malmgren Concert Black History Month
  • CSEA_Help Wanted_Labor Relations
  • 5 for CNY - Learn How
  • Land Bank - Restoring Properties
  • Urban CNY-Survey 2.0 LinkedIn-530 x 75 px
  • Alzheimer’s Association
  • Syracuse Stage Murder on the Orient Express

Celebrating Urban Life Since 1989

Menu Hamburger White
  • Urban CNY-Survey 2.0 LinkedIn-530 x 75 px
  • 5 for CNY - Learn How
  • CSEA_Help Wanted_Labor Relations
  • Land Bank - Restoring Properties
  • Malmgren Concert Black History Month
  • Alzheimer’s Association
  • Syracuse Stage Murder on the Orient Express

New York Mayors Endorse Governor Cuomo’s Tax Fairness for New York Campaign

More Than 60 Mayors Across the State Endorse Three-Pronged Efforts to Combat the Tax Law – Sue the Federal Government, Repeal Devastating Law and Overhaul the Tax Code

As Federal Assault Devastates New York by Nearly Eliminating the SALT Deduction Costing $14.3 Billion, New York Developing Coordinated Response

On Monday February 26th, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo announced 65 mayors from across New York endorsed his Tax Fairness for New York Campaign: to combat the devastating impacts the destructive, partisan GOP federal tax law will have on New York. The mayors endorsed Governor Cuomo’s three-pronged effort to fight the federal tax assault on New York, as announced in his 2018 State of the State Address. The first step is the multi-state coalition to sue the federal government. The second prong of the effort is to launch a repeal-and-replace strategy, and the third prong is to explore the feasibility of a major shift in the structure of State tax policy.

“With the Tax Fairness for New York campaign we are fighting back against Washington’s federal tax assault on New York,” Governor Cuomo said. “I am proud to have the support of mayors across the state as we work together to mitigate the impacts of this plan and do everything we can to protect the rights and wallets of hardworking New Yorkers.”

To advance the state’s efforts to overhaul the tax code, and to generate the best ideas and solutions, New York State Budget Director Robert Mujica as well as other New York State representatives have been meeting with experts from state and local government, academia, and the private sector to obtain feedback and comment on the preliminary report released in January by the Department of Taxation and Finance. The report outlines options for state tax reform designed to mitigate the adverse impact of the federal legislation on our economy and on New Yorkers.

Earlier this month, Budget Director Mujica unveiled 30-day amendments to the FY 2019 Executive Budget, including legislation to create a new optional Employer Compensation Expense Tax system, create two new funds to accept donations to fund health care and education programs, and provisions to decouple the state tax code from the federal tax code.

Syracuse Mayor Ben Walsh

Ben Walsh, Mayor of the City of Syracuse, said, “Governor Cuomo is taking decisive action to strengthen our state’s tax structure. We need to take the steps necessary to protect the interests of New Yorkers and help them protect their hard earned money. I commend the Governor for standing up for working taxpayers, the backbone of New York’s economy.”

Lovely Warren, Mayor of the City of Rochester, added, “Washington claims they want to benefit the middle class, but their policies show otherwise. Thankfully, Governor Cuomo is working hard to protect all New Yorkers by putting forth a tax plan that protects the middle class. We are proud to support opportunities for residents to deduct their taxes and look forward to the continued success of working men and women in this state under the Governor’s leadership.”

The following mayors endorsed the Tax Fairness campaign:

New York City

  • Bill de Blasio, New York City

Mid-Hudson Valley

  • Matt Alexander, Village of Wappingers Falls
  • Gary Bassett, Village of Rhinebeck
  • Noam Bramson, City of New Rochelle
  • Josh Cohn, City of Rye
  • Joe DeStefano, City of Middletown
  • Richard Falanka, Village of Port Chester
  • Nancy Kaboolian, Village of Ardsley
  • James Miccio, Village of Fishkill
  • Tom Murphy, Village of Mamaroneck
  • Steve Noble, City of Kingston
  • Brian Pugh, Village of Croton on Hudson
  • Andre Rainey, City of Peekskill
  • Tom Roach, City of White Plains
  • Tim Rogers, Village of New Paltz
  • Brian Smith, Village of Irvington
  • Mike Spano, City of Yonkers
  • Richard Thomas, City of Mount Vernon
  • Lorraine Walsh, Village of Larchmont

Long Island

  • George Hubbard, Village of Greenport
  • Robert Kennedy, Village of Freeport
  • Gregory Letica, Village of Asharoken
  • Francis Murray, Rockville Centre
  • Paul Pontieri, Patchogue Village
  • Tim Tenke, City of Glen Cove
  • Gary Vegliante, Village of Westhampton Beach

Western New York

  • Cara Birriettieri, Village of Lakewood
  • Byron Brown, City of Buffalo
  • Rick Davis, City of Tonawanda
  • Daniel DeLano, Village of Williamsville
  • Paul Dyster, City of Niagara Falls
  • Althanasia Landis, Village of Fredonia
  • Patrick Mang, Village of Kenmore
  • Willie Rosas, City of Dunkirk
  • David Smith, Village of Gowanda
  • Sam Teresi, City of Jamestown

Finger Lakes

  • Denise Coffey, Village of Silver Springs
  • Rick Milne, Village of Honeoye Falls
  • Ellen Polimeni, City of Canandaigua
  • Fred Ricci, Village of East Rochester
  • Joe Robinson, Village of Warsaw
  • Lovely Warren, City of Rochester

Central New York

  • Carla DeShaw, Village of Canastota
  • Ruth Ann Loveless, Village of Hamilton
  • Leo Matzke, City of Oneida
  • Hal McCabe, Village of Homer
  • Gary Mulvaney, Village of Moravia
  • Mike Quill, City of Auburn
  • Bud Shattuck, Village of Union Springs
  • Brian Tobin, City of Cortland
  • Ben Walsh, City of Syracuse

Mohawk Valley

  • Robert Palmieri, City of Utica

Capital Region

  • Dan Hall, City of Glens Falls
  • Meg Kelly, City of Saratoga Springs
  • Patrick Madden, City of Troy
  • Gary McCarthy, City of Schenectady
  • Kathy Sheehan, City of Albany

North Country

  • Tim Currier, Village of Massena
  • Ronald McDougall, Village of Gouverneur
  • Clyde Rabideau, Village of Saranac Lake

Southern Tier

  • John Bertoni, Village of Endicott
  • William Boland, City of Corning
  • Rich David, City of Binghamton
  • Greg Deemie, Village of Johnson City
  • Svante Myrick, City of Ithaca





Local, State & National




Contact Us