Syracuse University Celebrates their 162nd Commencement, Sunday May 15th

Donald E. Newhouse ’51, president of Advance Publications, will deliver Syracuse University’s Commencement address. The event will take place Sunday, May 15, beginning with the degree candidates’ procession at 9:30 a.m.

Syracuse University will confer 5,470 degrees, which are the bachelor’s, master’s, doctoral and associate’s degree candidates. The College of Law will confer 168 juris doctor and 33 master of law degrees during a ceremony Friday, May 13. The College of Law’s speaker will be Vice President Joe Biden L’68.

Syracuse University Chancellor and President Kent Syverud and SUNY ESF President Quentin D. Wheeler will address the graduates. Interim Vice Chancellor and Provost Elizabeth Liddy will preside.

According to Syracuse University Chancellor and President Kent Syverud, “This event is a culminating highlight of the years of study, hard work, and dedication you put into your education here at Syracuse. It is an opportunity for the entire University community to celebrate your success. Just as importantly, it gives your family and friends the chance to share in your pride at reaching this milestone.

Chancellor Kent D. Syverud

Chancellor Kent D. Syverud

On Saturday, May 14, the schools and colleges will hold their traditional academic Convocations and receptions for graduates and their guests. The University-wide Commencement will be the following day, Sunday, May 15, in the Carrier Dome. The event will begin with a procession of students, faculty, trustees, and administrators. Syracuse University has a long legacy of advancing knowledge and promoting lifelong success for all graduates. It does this through rigorous scholarship, teaching excellence, and learning experiences that prepare students to thrive in a complex world.

The 2016 Commencement ceremony extends that legacy and marks your place within it. It is a day rich with tradition and one that I know you will find both joyful and deeply memorable. I look forward to your joining me as we gather to honor your hard work and celebrate your achievement.”

The University will award honorary degrees to four recipients: Kevin Bell ’74, president and CEO of Chicago’s Lincoln Park Zoological Society; Floyd Little ’67, one of Syracuse’s all-time great running backs and currently special assistant to the Syracuse University athletics director; Newhouse; and Tobias Wolff, the Ward W. and Priscilla B. Woods Professor in the Humanities at Stanford University and a Syracuse University faculty member from 1980-1997.  For additional information on honorary degrees recipients click on the following link, Four Honorary Degrees to Be Awarded at Syracuse University’s 2016 Commencement.

The two all-University Senior Class Marshals, Alexis Peña and Tatiana Williams, will lead graduates during the ceremony. Peña is a biomedical engineering major in the College of Engineering and Computer Science. Williams is a social work major in the David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics, with a minor in psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences.

SU Individual schools GraduatesAlong with the all-University marshals, 23 student marshals will represent the 13 schools and colleges at Syracuse University; ESF is represented by two student marshals. They were chosen on the basis of leadership abilities, participation in extracurricular activities, service to the University and academic achievement. The marshals will lead the degree candidates of their respective schools or colleges.

Twelve seniors have been designated as Syracuse University Scholars and three as SUNY ESF Scholars. This is the highest academic award given to undergraduate students. Kaitlyn Elizabeth Hobson ’16 was selected as this year’s speaker on behalf of the Class of 2016.

Nancy Weatherly Sharp, professor emerita of newspaper journalism in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, will serve as mace bearer and lead the academic procession. The University Marshal is Shiu-Kai Chin, Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence and professor of electrical engineering and computer science in the College of Engineering and Computer Science. Associate University Marshal is Kelly Chandler-Olcott, Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence and professor and chair of reading and language arts in the School of Education.

The Army and Air Force ROTC cadets will present the colors.

The invocation will be given by Hendricks Chapel Interim Dean Samuel Clemence.

Also during the ceremony, retiring faculty members who have been recommended to receive the title of emeritus by the University Senate to the Syracuse University Board of Trustees will be recognized by Board of Trustees Chairman Steven W. Barnes.

The Syracuse University Brass Ensemble will perform under the direction of James Spencer, professor of chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences. The national anthem will be sung by Kirstin Ariel Marsh G’16 and Maria Whitcomb ’16 will sing the alma mater.

The Commencement ceremony will be streamed live at The stream will go live shortly before the ceremony begins.